Ana Casares and Raúl Fernández winners of the Popular 1/2 Marathon of Formentera

11/05/2019 // Unisport Consulting

Raúl Fernández has won the eleventh Popular Half Marathon of Formentera this afternoon, with a time of 1 hour. 12 minutes and 47 seconds, with William Aveiro (1:13:39) and Joan Marin (1h:15:41) completing the podium.

Regarding the feminine category, the fastest runner was once again Ana Casares with a time of 1:26:56. The athlete and professional triathlete had already won in 2017 and gained second place last year, followed by Belen Blasco, with a time of 1 hour, 28 minutes and 52 seconds. In third place was Elena Sanchez-Barbudo (1h:29:20).

In the 8 KM distance the winners were Angel Cobacho (0:30:26) and Suzanne Brummel (0:30:44). In the masculine category, second and third were Diego Martínez (0:30:27) and José Serra (0:30:30) and in the feminine category Sandra Aparicio (0:35:44) and Espe Viñals (0:37:53) were second and third respectively in the final classification.

The best local athlete has been Martí Juan Mayas for the third time and in the feminine category the honour has been for Laura Planells in the Half Marathon. In the 8KM distance, the best classified local athletes have been Angel Cobacho, the race winner, and Laura Sanchez Oliva.

This year’s race, held with spectacular weather, was enjoyed by a total of 3,000 athletes.

The prize-awarding ceremony was attended by the President of the Island Council of Formentera, Mr. Jaume Ferrer, Ms. Alejandra Ferrer, Councillor for Tourism, the Councillor for Sport, Mr. Jordi Vidal  and by sponsors of the event, Mr. Marcos Marí, Managing Director of Trasmapi and Ms. Belen Villalonga, Director of the Ibiza and Formentera Area of Caixabank.

As in recent editions the Island Council of Formentera has awarded a cheque of €1,500 to AMIGOS SOLIDARIOS as a collaboration in the projects that the NGO undertakes in Africa.

Results 1/2 Marathon Formentera
Results 8KM

#MaratoFormentera #Formentera #IllesBalears #BetterInWinter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



  • Sponsors